Большой цирк

В древнем Риме термин цирк означал большие открытые и огороженные территории, где проводились различные шоу, такие как гонки на колесницах.
Они считались наиболее важными местами развлечений в городе.

 
описание

Цирк Максимус: исторические заметки strong>
В древнем Риме термин цирк означал большие открытые и огороженные территории, где проводились различные шоу, такие как гонки на колесницах.
Они считались наиболее важными местами развлечений в городе.
Цирк Максим, названный так по большой вместимости зрителей (около тридцати тысяч), действительно был стадионом, овальная и вытянутая дорожка имела длину шестьсот метров и ширину двести метров, расположенную на римских холмах, между Палатинский холм и Авентинский холм. Первые деревянные сооружения, возможно, мобильные, были заложены во времена Тарквинов, во второй половине VI в. До н. Э., В то время как первые каменные сооружения датируются 2-м веком до н.э. Затем памятник был восстановлен императором Августом.
После серьезного пожара во время империи Домициана, реконструкция была завершена во время правления Императора Траяна, в начале 2-го века; впоследствии император Каракалла отдал приказ о продлении, а последние реставрационные работы были проведены при императоре Константине. Затем, в 357 г. н.э., новый обелиск был добавлен к существующему египетскому августейскому обелиску по указанию Констанция II.
Использование Цирка Максима, вопреки церковным запретам, продолжалось долгое время, вплоть до 5-го века, и закончилось последним представлением, разыскиваемым Королем готов Тотилой, в 549 году нашей эры. Затем историческое строение было заброшено, предметы обстановки были рассеяны, а два обелиска были похоронены, и только в 1588 году их можно было найти снова.

Цирк Максимус: структура strong>
Большая арена была разделена на две части стеной, называемой позвоночником, вокруг которой проходили гонки на колесницах, где они должны были обычно выполнять семь кругов в каждой гонке; эта стена заканчивалась двумя небольшими колоннами, указывающими пункт прибытия или отъезда. Внешний фасад имел три заказа; пещера опиралась на каменные конструкции, в которых располагались ступени, чтобы добраться до различных секторов сидений.
Окружающие трибуны были разделены на три секции, которые были прерваны в области, обращенной к Палатинскому холму, чтобы разместить великого императорского дворца, который принимал императоров, когда они шли смотреть игры.
Самая высокая часть ступеней поддерживалась большими деревянными трибунами, которые должны были предотвратить обрушения, ответственные за гибель многих зрителей.
На стадионе проходили гонки на колесницах с двенадцатью колесницами (колесницами на четырех лошадях) и морскими сражениями (наумахии); в этом случае арена была затоплена водами Тибра, чтобы имитировать реальные бои между кораблями противника.

Любопытство о Максимальном цирке strong>
Его стратегическое положение, вблизи реки Тибр, первоначально облегчало все коммерческие и торговые операции, которые происходили там, с обменом товарами между соседним населением.
Позже этот район был использован для развлекательных мероприятий, как описано выше. В последнее время площадь Большого цирка была переоценена для использования в широкомасштабном городском использовании. Был создан тур, который учитывает все самые живописные и интересные уголки района; древние туннели, которые когда-то вели к ярусам пещеры, были восстановлены.
Прогуливаясь по этим галереям, вы сможете насладиться необычным и очень живописным зрелищем.
Посещение может продолжаться вдоль внешней асфальтированной дороги, которая окружает большой травертиновый бассейн, предназначенный для поения животных. В течение этого тура вы также можете полюбоваться древними магазинами, которые назывались скиниями, где продавались различные виды товаров. Можно было также увидеть таверны, которые представляли собой различные магазины и старые пункты обмена валют, связанные со ставками, сделанными в связи с скачками.

время открытия

Цирк Максим всегда открыт

как туда добраться

The Circus Maximus расположен в самом центре Рима, и до него можно добраться разными способами, либо на общественном транспорте (такси или автобусе), либо на личном автомобиле.
В зависимости от начальной точки, некоторые маршруты целесообразны, а именно:
— из аэропорта Фьюмичино курсирует поезд Leonardo Express до римского вокзала Термини (каждые двадцать минут)
— от римского вокзала Термини вы можете сесть на линию метро B (направление Лаурентина) и сойти после трех остановок на станции метро Circo Massimo.
— из аэропорта Чампино предоставляется трансферный автобус Terravision, который следует до римского вокзала Термини.
— из порта Чивитавеккья желательно сесть на поезд до римского вокзала Термини

В туристических офисах столицы имеются подробные карты, показывающие маршруты автобусов, линий метро и станций такси, которые, будучи общественным транспортом, могут пересекать льготные полосы в городе.
Напротив, если вы предпочитаете использовать личный транспорт, например, свой собственный автомобиль, вам необходимо тщательно изучить разрешенные маршруты, чтобы добраться до Большого цирка.

ближайшие привлечения

Вокруг Максима Цирка, как, впрочем, и в любой части Рима, можно полюбоваться другими памятниками, представляющими большой интерес. В окрестностях Большого цирка вы можете прогуляться до Палатинского холма, что займет всего десять минут. Колизей, считающийся символом вечного города, также находится недалеко и заслуживает тщательного посещения из-за своей великолепной структуры.
На противоположной стороне от Палатина расположен красивый Муниципальный сад роз, в котором находится огромное разнообразие роз среди самых редких из существующих; этот визит особенно рекомендуется в весенние месяцы, когда вы можете посмотреть уникальное и чарующее шоу.
От Муниципального Розария за короткое время можно добраться до Джардино дельи Аранчи (Parco Savello), который является очень тихим уголком редкой красоты.
Наконец, всегда в этом районе желательно добраться до Пьяцца Бокка делла Верита, места, которое не слишком хорошо известно, но которое заслуживает приятной остановки, и до которого можно добраться всего за десять минут пешком.

 

Other Rome Experiences

Circus Maximus

In ancient Rome, the term circus meant large open and fenced areas where various shows were held, such as the chariot races.
They were considered the most important places of entertainment in the city.

 
DESCRIPTION

Circus Maximus: historical notes
In ancient Rome, the term circus meant large open and fenced areas where various shows were held, such as the chariot races.
They were considered the most important places of entertainment in the city.
The Circus Maximus, so named for its large capacity of spectators (about thirty thousand), was indeed a stadium, the oval and elongated track had a length of six hundred meters and a width of two hundred meters, located on the Roman hills, between the Palatine hill and the Aventine hill. The first wooden installations, perhaps mobile, were laid at the time of the Tarquins, in the second half of the 6th century B.C., while the first masonry structures date back to the 2nd century B.C. The monument was then restored by Emperor Augustus.
After a serious fire occurred during Domitian’s empire, the reconstruction was completed during the reign of Emperor Trajan, at the beginning of the 2nd century; subsequently the Emperor Caracalla ordered an extension, while the last restoration work was carried out under the Emperor Constantine. Then, in A.D. 357, a new Obelisk was added to the existing Egyptian Augusteo Obelisk, at the behest of Constantius II.
The use of the Circus Maximus, contrary to the prohibitions of the Church, remained for a long time, until the 5th century, and ended with the last show wanted by Totila, King of the Goths, in the year A.D. 549. Then, this historic structure was abandoned, the furnishings were dispersed and the two obelisks were buried, only to be found again in 1588.

Circus Maximus: structure
The large arena was divided into two parts by a wall called the spine, around which the chariot races took place, where they had to typically perform seven laps in each race; this wall ended with two small columns indicating the point of arrival or departure. The external facade had three orders; the cavea rested on masonry structures, which housed the stairs to reach the various sectors of the seats.
The surrounding bleachers were divided into three sections which were interrupted in the area facing the Palatine Hill, to house the great Imperial Palco, which hosted the Emperors when they went to watch the games.
The highest part of the steps was supported by large wooden stands, which were intended to prevent collapses, responsible for the deaths of many spectators.
In the stadium, chariot races took place with twelve chariots (four-horse chariots) and naval battles (naumachiae); in this case the arena was flooded through the waters of the Tiber, to simulate real fighting between enemy ships.

Curiosities about the Circus Maximus
Its strategic position, near the Tiber river, initially facilitated all the commercial and merchant activities that took place there, with the exchange of goods between neighboring populations.
Later this area was used for recreational activities, as described above. In recent times, the area of the Circus Maximus has been re-evaluated to be used for a wide-ranging city use. A tour has been created that takes into account all the most picturesque and interesting corners of the area; the ancient tunnels that once led to the tiers of the cavea have been restored.
Walking through these galleries you can enjoy an unusual and very picturesque spectacle.
The visit can continue along the external paved road, which flanks a large travertine pool, which was intended to water the animals. Along this tour you can also admire the ancient shops, which were called tabernae, where various types of goods were sold. One could see also taverns, which were shops of various kinds and old money-changer offices, linked to the bets that were made in relation to horse races.

OPENING TIME

The Circus Maximus is always open

HOW TO GET THERE

The Circus Maximus is located right in the center of Rome, and can be reached in various ways, either by public transport (Taxi or bus) or by private car.
Depending on the starting point, some itineraries are advisable, namely:
– from the Fiumicino airport, the Leonardo Express shuttle-train is available to Rome Termini Station (every twenty minutes)
– from Rome Termini Station, you can take the Metro Line B (direction Laurentina) and get off after three stops at Circo Massimo Metro Station.
– from Ciampino airport, the Terravision shuttle bus is available, heading to Rome Termini Station
– from the port of Civitavecchia, it is advisable to use the train to Rome Termini Station

There are, at the tourist offices of the capital, detailed maps showing the routes of buses, metro lines and taxi stations which, being public transport, can cross preferential lanes in the city.
On the contrary, if you prefer to use private vehicles, like your own car, you will need to carefully study the permitted routes to reach the Circus Maximus.

NEARBY ATTRACTIONS

Around Circus Maximus, as indeed in every part of Rome, it is possible to admire other monuments of great interest. In the vicinity of Circus Maximus, you can take a walk to the Palatine Hill, which will only take ten minutes. The Colosseum, considered the symbol of the eternal city, is also not far away and it deserves a thorough visit for its magnificent structure.
On the opposite side from the Palatine, stands the beautiful Municipal Rose Garden, which hosts an enormous variety of roses among the rarest in existence; this visit is particularly recommended in the spring months, when you can watch a unique and enchanting show.
From the Municipal Rose Garden, in a short time, it is possible to reach the Giardino degli Aranci (Parco Savello), which is a very quiet corner of rare beauty.
Finally, always in the area, it is advisable to reach Piazza Bocca della Verità, a place not too well known, but which deserves a pleasant stop, and which can be reached in just ten minutes on foot.

 

Other Rome Experiences

Why have millions of travellers chosen us?

Official Partners of ORP and SITBUS

We have a special relationship with our suppliers, and we guarantee you maximum support

 

Payment Options

We work with STRIPE: a payment solution that is fully compliant with international standards for data protection and adheres to the security protocols of payment circuits, global and flexible for marketplaces.

 

Free Companion App

Always carry your tickets with you, check and manage your reservations, and get tips to enjoy the city like a local.

 
trasferimento-di-denaro-online

Order and Payment Tracking

At every stage of the payment you will be able to verify what you are about to pay: no hidden costs, clear and obvious exchange rate calculation, SSL certificate.

 

A Real Insider in Rome

We tell you all about the neighborhoods of Rome as only a Roman can do.

 

Exclusive 48h Card

The Omnia 48h is an exclusive card created by Opera Romana Pellegrinaggi only for our website.