Galleria Borghese

Die Galerie Borghese befindet sich in der Piazzale Scipione Borghese 5 in der Villa Borghese Pinciana in Rom, Italien.

 
beschreibung

Auf dem römischen Hügel Pincio , eingebettet in einen der größten Parks Roms, beherbergt die Villa Borghese eine der berühmtesten Kunstsammlungen: die Galleria Borghese.

In der Residenz der Adelsfamilie aus dem 14. Jahrhundert, nach der die Villa benannt ist, sind viele Meisterwerke der italienischen Kunst erhalten: Gemälde und Skulpturen der berühmtesten Künstler wie Raffael, Tiziano , Caravaggio, Gian Lorenzo Bernini und Antonio Canova. Hier befindet sich die kostbare Sammlung des Kardinals Scipione Caffarelli (1577-1633), Neffe von Papst Paul V., die zwischen 1576 und 1633 zusammengetragen wurde.

Die Familie Borghese und die Villa am Pincio

Die Borghese sind in der Geschichte dafür bekannt, Paul V. 1605 auf den päpstlichen Thron gebracht zu haben und damit einen raschen Aufstieg zur Macht zu beginnen, der es mehreren Vertretern der Familie über Jahrhunderte ermöglichte, reich zu werden und Machtpositionen einzunehmen. Scipione Borghese, Neffe des zum Kardinal ernannten Papstes Paul V., war ein Patron und großer Bewunderer seines Schützlings Gian Lorenzo Bernini. Ihm verdanken wir den Bau der Villa Borghese und die darin aufbewahrte wertvolle Sammlung von Kunstwerken.

Die Villa wurde zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts auf einem Grundstück der Familie erbaut, dem im Laufe der Zeit weitere Ländereien angefügt wurden, bis sie die heutige Ausdehnung erreichten. Unter den neun Eingängen des Parks der Villa Borghese, die von den Zonen Pinciano , Flaminio und Salario zugänglich sind, befindet sich der monumentale Eingang auf der Piazzale Flaminio .

Der Bau der von Flaminio Ponzio entworfenen Villa wurde von Giovanni Vasanzio nach dem typischen architektonischen Schema der Vorstadtvillen aus dem 16. Jahrhundert nach dem Vorbild von Villa Farnesina und Villa Medici abgeschlossen. Die Struktur der Villa gliedert sich in Volumina und hervorstehende Körper, die durch einen Portikus verbunden sind. Die Fassade ist mit Reliefs und Skulpturen verziert, um den Reichtum der im Inneren aufbewahrten Werke zu antizipieren und zu reproduzieren, der im Außenbereich bereits erfolgreich war. Im 17. Jahrhundert waren die Architekten Giovanni Vasanzio und Carlo Rainaldi für den Bau einer Reihe von Gebäuden verantwortlich, die an die Villa angeschlossen waren, einschließlich der Uccelliera und der Gärten.

Der Architekt Antonio Aspucci war im folgenden Jahrhundert der Autor einer radikalen Erneuerung des Dekorationsapparats, als er nach dem Willen von Marcantonio IV Borghese, einem weiteren bekannten Förderer der Familie Borghese, berühmte Maler zur Arbeit berief die Villa, wie Christoph Unterberger , Domenico Corvi , Nicolò Lapiccola , Anton von Marón , Giuseppe Cades, Tommaso Maria Conca , Mariano Rossi und berühmte Bildhauer wie Vincenzo Pacetti , Tommaso Righi , Agostino Penna.

Galleria Borghese: eine großartige Sammlung italienischer Kunst

Unter den Barockhallen bilden die von der Familie Borghese gesammelten Kunstwerke eine der wichtigsten Ausstellungen in Italien und auf der ganzen Welt, die seit Jahrhunderten bekannt sind.

Seine Liebe zur Kunst veranlasste Kardinal Nepotis Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nicht nur die besten Künstler seiner Zeit anzusprechen, an die er Werke in Auftrag gab, sondern auch zahlreiche Gemälde und Skulpturen zu erwerben . Der leidenschaftliche Sammler konnte bereits 1607 mit 100 Gemälden aufwarten, darunter auch einige frühe Werke von Caravaggio. 1608 kaufte er weitere 71 Gemälde von Kardinal Sfondrato , darunter das Gemälde von Tizian, Amor Sacro und Amor Profano . Scipione nutzte sogar die Gelegenheit, um unter den Stücken seiner Sammlung ein Werk zu haben, das vom Papst kaum abgelehnt wurde: Caravaggios Madonna dei Palafrenieri , die vom Künstler in Auftrag gegeben wurde, um in St. Peter ausgestellt zu werden.

Werke von Raffael wie die Deposition Baglioni , von Tizian, Correggio, Antonello da Messina und Giovanni Bellini gehören ebenfalls zur Sammlung der Galerie Borghese.

Berninis Skulpturen sind faszinierend; Er war derjenige, der es geschafft hat, dem harten Marmor, in dem Plutos Finger versinken, um Proserpina (Il ratto di Proserpina, 1621-1629) zu entführen, eine unglaubliche Weichheit zu verleihen , und der es geschafft hat, jedes vorgegebene, präzise Muster zu brechen Äußerungen von Angst, Schmerz und Angst in den geformten Gesichtern; Zum Beispiel ist eine Träne auf Proserpinas Gesicht zu sehen. Eine weitere wunderbare Arbeit des Genies Bernini, die hier bewundert werden kann, ist die Skulpturengruppe von Apollo und Daphne.

Die oben genannten skulptierten Gruppen wurden auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch von Kardinal Scipione aufgeführt , ebenso die Werke der Capra Amaltea , Enea und Anchises .

Im 18. Jahrhundert war Prinz Camillo der Patron der Familie Borghese, die Napoleon Bonapartes Schwester Paolina heiratete . Ein weiteres Meisterwerk, das die Sammlung bereichert, ist die Marmorstatue, die Antonio Canova gerade anlässlich der Hochzeit in Auftrag gegeben hat: Paolina Bonaparte wird als Venus-Siegerin auf einem Triklinium dargestellt , wo Sie die Falten der Matratze bewundern können das sind geschnitzt wegen des Gewichts der Frau.

Diese und andere Werke wie die von Rubens und Botticelli sind in den Räumen im Obergeschoss ausgestellt, während das Erdgeschoss der klassischen Archäologie gewidmet ist. Insgesamt können 20 Räume besichtigt werden, einige Werke sind auch auf der Veranda und in der Eingangshalle ausgestellt.

Darüber hinaus befinden sich in den Lagern der Galerie Borghese weitere 260 Gemälde, die nur nach vorheriger Reservierung besichtigt werden können.

öffnungszeit

Dienstag bis Sonntag 09:00 bis 19:00 Uhr Letzter Einlass 17:00 Uhr

Montags, am 25. Dezember und am 1. Januar geschlossen

Reservierung erforderlich: +39 06 328 10

wie man dorthin kommt

Der Eingang zur Galerie Borghese befindet sich an der Piazzale del Museo Borghese, Hausnummer 5. Er kann mit der U-Bahn-Linie A erreicht werden. Die nächste Haltestelle ist der U-Bahnhof Piazza di Spagna .

Stadtbusse hingegen ermöglichen es Ihnen, das Museum mit vielen Bussen zu erreichen, z. B .: n.5, n.19, n.52, n.53, n.63, n.86, n.88, n. 92, n.95, n.116, n.204, n.217, n.231, n.360, n.490, n.491, n.495, n.630, n.910 und n. 926.

Für den Besuch des Museums wird eine Reservierung empfohlen. Aus Sicherheitsgründen ist der Zugang für maximal zwei Stunden mit jeweils rund 360 Personen gestattet. Die Eintrittskarte kann online oder telefonisch erworben werden. Das Ticket kann auch vor Ort gekauft werden, vorausgesetzt, es ist eine halbe Stunde vor dem geplanten Einlass, wie in den oben beschriebenen Schichten beschrieben.

Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie auf der Website der Galleria Borghese.

Im Sommer sowie während der üblichen Öffnungszeiten für die Öffentlichkeit sind vom 6. Juli bis 6. Oktober Abendbesuche von 19.00 bis 22.00 Uhr gestattet.

In der Umgebung können Sie auch die Nationalgalerie für moderne Kunst, die Kirchen Santa Maria della Concezione und Santa Maria della Vittoria sowie die Piazza Barberini besuchen .

attraktionen in der nähe

Piazza del Popolo

 

Other Rome Experiences

Galleria Borghese

The Borghese gallery is in Piazzale Scipione Borghese 5, inside the Villa Borghese Pinciana in Rome, Italy.

 
DESCRIPTION

On the Roman hill of Pincio, immersed in one of the largest parks in Rome, Villa Borghese houses one of the most famous art collections: the Borghese Gallery.
In the abode that belonged to the noble family in the 14th century, from which the villa takes its name, many of the masterpieces of Italian art are kept: paintings and sculptures of the most famous artists such as Raphael, Tiziano, Caravaggio, Gian Lorenzo Bernini and Antonio Canova. In here there is the precious collection of the Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli (1577-1633), nephew of Pope Paul V, gathered between 1576 and 1633.
The Borghese Family and the Villa on the Pincio
The Borghese are known to history for having brought Paul V to the papal throne, in 1605, and thus to begin a rapid ascent towards power that allowed several exponents of the family, for centuries, to get rich and hold roles of power. Scipione Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V, nominated cardinal, was a patron and great admirer of Gian Lorenzo Bernini, his protégé. It is to him that we owe the construction of Villa Borghese and the precious collection of works of art preserved in it.
The Villa was built at the beginning of the 17th century on a plot of land of the family, to which over time other lands were annexed until reaching the current extension. Among the nine entrances to the park of Villa Borghese, which allow access from the Pinciano, Flaminio and Salario zones, the monumental entrance is on Piazzale Flaminio.
The construction of the Villa, designed by Flaminio Ponzio, was completed by Giovanni Vasanzio, following the typical architectural layout of the suburban villas of the 16th century, following the example of Villa Farnesina and Villa Medici. The structure of the villa is divided into volumes and protruding bodies connected by a portico, the façade is embellished with reliefs and sculptures in the successful attempt to anticipate and reproduce, the richness of the works kept inside which had already been successful outside. In the 17th century, the architects Giovanni Vasanzio and Carlo Rainaldi were responsible for the construction of a series of buildings, annexed to the villa, including the Uccelliera and the gardens.
The architect Antonio Aspucci, in the following century, was instead the author of a radical renewal of the decorative apparatus, when, by the will of Marcantonio IV Borghese, another well-known patron of the Borghese family, he called famous painters to work at the villa, such as Christoph Unterberger, Domenico Corvi, Nicolò Lapiccola, Anton von Maron, Giuseppe Cades, Tommaso Maria Conca, Mariano Rossi and famous sculptors such as Vincenzo Pacetti, Tommaso Righi, Agostino Penna.
Galleria Borghese: a splendid collection of Italian art
Among the Baroque halls, the works of art collected by the Borghese family constitute what has been defined for centuries as one of the most important exhibitions in Italy and around the world.
His love for art led Cardinal Nepotis Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, not only to address the best artists of the time to whom he commissioned works for himself, but also to get hold of numerous paintings and sculptures. The passionate collector could boast as many as 100 paintings already in 1607, including some of Caravaggio’s early works. In 1608, he bought another 71 paintings by Cardinal Sfondrato, including the painting by Titian, Amor Sacro and Amor Profano. Scipione even managed to seize the opportunity to have among the pieces of his collection, a work barely rejected by the pope: Caravaggio’s Madonna dei Palafrenieri, commissioned from the artist to be exhibited in St. Peter’s.
Works by Raphael, such as the Deposition Baglioni, by Titian, Correggio, Antonello da Messina, Giovanni Bellini also belong to the collection of the Borghese Gallery.
Bernini’s sculptures are fascinating; He was the one who managed to give an incredible effect of softness to the hard marble, in which Pluto’s fingers sink in an attempt to kidnap Proserpina (Il ratto di Proserpina, 1621-1629) and which he gave, breaking every pattern predetermined, precise expressions of fear, pain, anguish to the sculpted faces; for example a tear is seen on Proserpina’s face. Another wonderful work by the genius Bernini, which can be admired here, is the sculptural group of Apollo and Daphne.
The sculpted groups mentioned above were performed at the explicit request of Cardinal Scipione, as well as the works depicting the Capra Amaltea, Enea and Anchises.
In the 18th century, Prince Camillo was the patron of the Borghese family, who married Napoleon Bonaparte’s sister, Paolina. Another masterpiece that enriches the collection is, in fact, the marble statue commissioned by the same to Antonio Canova, precisely on the occasion of the wedding: Paolina Bonaparte is depicted as Venus Winner on a triclinium, where you can admire the folds of the mattress that are carved because of the weight of the woman.
These and other works such as those by Rubens and Botticelli are displayed in the rooms on the upper floor, while the ground floor is dedicated to classical archeology. In all there are 20 rooms that can be visited, some works are also exhibited in the porch and in the entrance hall.
In addition, there are another 260 paintings kept in the Borghese Gallery’s storages, which can only be visited upon reservation.

OPENING TIME

Tuesday to Sunday 09:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Last entry 5:00 p.m.
Closed on Mondays, December 25 and January 1
Reservations required: +39 06 328 10
 

The 72h includes the Roma Pass. We remind you that the Roma Pass allows access to museums without reservation, simply by booking at the entrance of the attractions included in the Roma Pass circuit, except for the Galleria Borghese and / or the archaeological excavations of Palazzo Valentini / Domus Romane, to visit which reservations are mandatory for both adults and children and for all categories that are exempt from payment. The reservation is included in the admission only if you use the card for one of the first two free admissions.

HOW TO GET THERE

The entrance to the Borghese Gallery is located in Piazzale del Museo Borghese, at number 5. It can be reached by the Metro Line A; the nearest stop is Piazza di Spagna Metro Station.
Urban buses, on the other hand, allow you to reach the museum by many busses such as: n.5, n.19, n.52, n.53, n.63, n.86, n.88, n.92, n.95, n.116, n.204, n.217, n.231, n.360, n.490, n.491, n.495, n.630, n.910 and n. 926.
Booking is recommended to visit the museum, moreover, for security reasons, access is allowed in visits lasting a maximum of two hours, of around 360 people at a time. The entrance ticket can be purchased online or by booking over the telephone. It is possible to purchase the ticket also on site providing that it is half an hour before the scheduled entrance, as described in the shifts described above.
Detailed information is available on the website of the Galleria Borghese museum.
In summer, as well as during the usual opening hours to the public, evening visits are permitted from 7.00 p.m. to 10.00 p.m. from 6 July to 6 October.
In the area, it is also possible to visit the National Gallery of Modern Art, the churches of Santa Maria della Concezione and Santa Maria della Vittoria, Piazza Barberini.

NEARBY ATTRACTIONS

Piazza del Popolo

 

Other Rome Experiences

Why have millions of travellers chosen us?

Official Partners of ORP and SITBUS

We have a special relationship with our suppliers, and we guarantee you maximum support

 

Payment Options

We work with STRIPE: a payment solution that is fully compliant with international standards for data protection and adheres to the security protocols of payment circuits, global and flexible for marketplaces.

 

Refund Guarantee

To guarantee you are completely satisfied with your purchase, we offer you the possibility to return the product within 15 days of purchase *

 

Free Companion App

Always carry your tickets with you, check and manage your reservations, and get tips to enjoy the city like a local.

 

Instant Availability Check

You can check the entrance availability of the monuments and in the museums before buying the ticket, and hold the reservation for 15 minutes before buying.

 
trasferimento-di-denaro-online

Order and Payment Tracking

At every stage of the payment you will be able to verify what you are about to pay: no hidden costs, clear and obvious exchange rate calculation, SSL certificate.

 

A Real Insider in Rome

We tell you all about the neighborhoods of Rome as only a Roman can do.

 

Exclusive 48h Card

The Omnia 48h is an exclusive card created by Opera Romana Pellegrinaggi only for our website.